adelynlee

Volcanos, Earthquakes, Oh my!

In Italian Media, Uncategorized on May 21, 2012 at 12:40 am

So today, I felt an earthquake and saw a volcano. And neither of those were even the highlight!

Today really started with me thinking that I felt an earthquake. I woke up at 4am and felt like the room shook just a tiny bit. It was super minor and lasted about like 10 seconds, but after hearing about how Italy is prone to earthquakes in one of our tours, I supposed by constantly overactive imagination had the best of me.

BUT there was an earthquake in central Italy and maybe I felt a small outskirt of it. Crazy.

This morning however we woke up and had our last breakfast in Firenza. We drug all of our bags and purchase around various corners of the city to line up at the train station. We took a high speed train from Florenze to Salermo, and after further transportation we will ended up traveling down the Amalfi Coast and to our hotel in Sorrento.

The train station was a cool experience. Even the walls and clocks of a train station in  Florence have artwork and beauty. I was saying at home a place like that would have a picture of like Lady Gaga. I didn’t see as many advertisements in the station as I would have expected either. I feel like in America even the tickets have sponsors and advertisements and Italians seem to reach their audiences in different ways. It was interesting!

Being on the train is really neat. I wish I had the opportunity to take more trains. Gazing out the window, I realize that I’ve gotten used to this beautiful landscape. Seeing ancient cities, vast cathedrals and gorgeous architecture is not exactly something it is easy to get used to but I am not going to know how to handle not seeing all of the beauty all the time!

After we got off the train, we drove through Naples and past Pompeii. Like THE Pompeii where Mount Vesuvius erupted in 79 AD. It has been unreal seeing all of these places I’ve learned about since the second grade up close.

Up next was the weaving through and around the high and narrow-landed mountains of the Amalfi Coast. This was probably my absolute favorite part of the entire trip. We saw Positano where all of the celebs hang out and some of the most breathtaking views on the planet:

The more I see of Italy, the more I’m convinced its the prettiest place on earth.

Leave a Reply

