adelynlee

Italian Digital and Social Media

In Italian Media, Uncategorized on June 12, 2013 at 3:45 pm

ImageLast summer, I took a media studies tour of Rome, Florence and parts of Amalfi with my undergraduate institution, Point Park University. Here’s a story about our trip: https://www.pointpark.edu/news.aspx?id=589.

Learning the differences between media operations there and here was insightful and amazingly interesting. One of the highlights for me especially was discovering that sports fans in Italy, despite AC Milan boasting one of the overall largest fan bases, do not often turn to social media to chirp or discuss game play.

I ran a twitter page, Facebook and  a website for our trip last year. Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances the website is no longer up and running. But the social from the trip can give you some idea as to the things we saw and learned.

This year as a graduate student at Syracuse University, I enrolled in an international digital and social media course. I created a presentation examining culture and differences in digital and social for Italy: http://prezi.com/zpe4help0yf3/?utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=copy

Leave a comment