adelynlee

Big Players coming and going in #SocialTV

In social tv on February 2, 2014 at 9:15 pm

While in the Digital Sports space, I’m an active participator working on digital and social for the NHL Florida Panthers, in the Social TV space, I’m a fan and observer. I enjoy the social TV world in my off time, and am admittedly a second-screen first kinda gal.

So I was fan-girl interested in the big plays went down this week in the realm of Social TV as GetGlue announced it’s end and TV Tag took over. The transition, originally announced in November, still felt like a shock as the old branding complete with physical “stickers” came to an end. The replacement “TV Tag” auto-updated on phones to a simplistic red background with a white box screen. The functionality feels very similar, checking into TV Shows (with incentives to check-in live) and  allowing for conversation within the application.

My favorite parts about GetGlue were the connection to the physical-the chance to earn real stickers and the ability to easily social share what I was watching. The change over removes the first half entirely and I haven’t been able to successful share a status on Facebook yet. The auto generated Tweet from the app is useful. I like the way that it hashtags what you are watching and quantifies the number of people also “checked in.” However, TV Tag has the same problem that I experienced with Get Glue. A social network is only as powerful as it’s users, and it is a shell of a network in that way. I’ve never had an actual conversation within the app. My conversations were always drawn externally from carrying around my physical sticker (REAL LIFE CONVERSATIONS! GASP) or from the auto generated statuses which took the conversation to Twitter or Facebook.

A new application is in the process of Beta-testing though that does just the opposite. Platypus TV aims to keep your conversation within their sidebar window and allow you to watch and second screen TV show on your time. Binge Netflix watchers and anyone who watches TV not live (so everyone) this is for you.

Developed my fellow NewhouseSU alums and friends of mine, Nomi Foster and Sarah Roche, along with Connor Vanderpool of the Rochester Institute of Technology, PlatypusTV (www.platypustv.com) is currently in the testing phase. I had the amazing opportunity to check out the project, which has been incubating and developing in the Syracuse Sandbox.

To my understanding, the app’s main purpose is to allow for digital conversations to occur timeshifted around content. Platypus does not provide the content but promotes a manual sync where you the user can get comments and updates correlated perfectly with TV content no matter when you watching.

To put it more clearly: Let’s say I watch Psych (the most important of TV shows) Saturday morning at 11 a.m. and provide my twitter-like comments throughout the episode within the Platypus interface. Then you (hey, there!) watch it three weeks from now and do the same. If connected to my community, you can see my comments and converse with me at the same point in the episode. So when you hear about pluto, and think that’s messed up, you can see what myself, or anyone else in your network had to say. It’s live-tweeting on your time.

After trying it out, I’m so excited to see more of what they have in store and especially after making the jump to South Florida and having friends and family not exactly close, it will be awesome to be able to share the same TV content and conversation we once did despite our schedules.

Leave a Reply

