adelynlee

They say your hobby should be the farthest thing from your occupation…

In lifestyle on July 5, 2014 at 11:23 pm

…And since I spend my days happily clicking, retweeting and most recently coding my way through the digital media realm of hockey, my hobby is something entirely the opposite–Gardening.

Growing up, I was never good at taking care of things. I can’t even tell you how many goldfish accidentally drown on my watch. But when I moved into my new apartment in Florida last October, I decided to try out my green thumb. Probably because Florida’s constant sunshine and wet rains create the ideal climate for plants, my garden didn’t turn out half bad and I’ve really started to enjoy it.

I’m partially embarrassed to become one of “those people” but I made a Pin Board to document my plants and plant care tips.

 

Follow Adelyn’s board Addie’s SoFla Garden on Pinterest.

I’ve had success so far with Basil,

Screen Shot 2014-07-05 at 7.21.15 PM

Jalapeños

4c1d0b0f2879ee6b3bc5f06a9ea8bc0b

 

and  Radishes, but unfortunately managed to kill the gorgeous flowers pictured above. Maybe there’s a lesson in there somewhere?

Today I planted my first strawberry plant as well as some chocolate mint! I’m hoping to dry my lavender and chocolate mint and make my own tea.

My garden has taught me two things above all so far: 

1. Do your research– Not that I have’t learned this a million times throughout college, graduate school and life, but for some reason I treated this as less academic and more just “water them everyday right?” But I am finding out it’s not that simple. Florida’s climate makes for a unique year-round growing ground, but it’s still important to see which plants compliment each other and what is the best time of year to plant them.

2. Plants are an amazing allegory for life– Yes, so corny I know. But also, so true. Sometimes all we can do is plant the seeds, provide the water and hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

